My name is Varinder Unlu and I have worked in ELT for over 25 years. After teaching for five years in Turkey, I returned to London and started working in a private language school where I became a Director of Studies in 2001. I have worked in Academic Management since then. From 2010 – 2016 I was the Director of Studies at International House, London.

I have also worked in FE teaching ESOL and HE teaching EAP. As well as this, I have been an inspector and an examiner with most exam boards. I am a teacher trainer for both Trinity and Cambridge. In 2014, I worked with Sugata Mitra and his team in Newcastle University to research Self Organised Learning Environments.

Last year, I co-founded the 16th IATEFL SIG: Inclusive Practices and SENS.

I have spoken at many conferences on a range of different topics: NNESTs v NEST, Assessment, Fairer Employment in ELT, CLIL, Young Learners, Motivation, CPD, Special Educational Needs and inclusive practices, Self Organised Learning Environments (SOLES). I have also given webinars and several plenary talks.

I am currently doing an MA in TESOL. Contact me at vrunlu67@gmail.com

