Tags

, , , , , , ,

My name is Grazzia Maria Mendoza Chirinos and have a Master’s in International Teaching and a Master’s of Arts in TESOL. I have been active in ESL for 25 years and have worked in Higher education for 11 years teaching English for Academic Purposes as well as for Specific Purposes and designing curriculum and developing English programs at all levels of instruction.

I like to volunteer in varied projects related to EFL. I am US Department of State Alumna for programs such as the E-teacher, SIT World Learning, SUSI and many more. I was accredited through the US Embassy as a teacher trainer since 2008 and through SIT since 2010. I have developed presentations at TESOL International since 2007 and with TESOL affiliates and English Teacher Association in Mexico, Central America and South America.

I have been actively involved in TESOL International Association as a presenter since 2007; in 2012 I was an invited guest speaker to present the work of Honduras in EFL/ESL. Chair of the International Award Committee 2012-2014. Assistant Editor for the CALL Interest Section Newsletter for the last 5 years. TESOL International proposal reviewer since 2009. Currently EFLIS Chair. I am the Honduran representative for the Regional TESOL affiliate group for Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean Basin since 2010 and currently its President for the 2016-2018 period. Additionally, I am HELTA-Honduras TESOL President which is a TESOL International recognized affiliate and IATEFL associate.

I am strongly interested in promoting professional development for teachers in Honduras in both the public and the private settings. I have a published a paper related to CALL in the EFL classroom and several articles in Newsletters. I am currently drafting a Curricular Framework for Latin America to present to colleagues of the Regional TESOL group to be able to work on it collaboratively. Also doing research on Competency Based Language Teaching. I enjoy working and researching on curricular development and promotion of change, new programs and promotion of experiential and student-centered instruction as well as establishing in-service training program for teachers.

You can reach me at: grazziem01@yahoo.com or view my profile at LinkedIn

