Tags

, , , ,

Julie Moore photoMy background is in lexicography and corpus research and first and foremost, I love words! Nowadays, I work as a freelance writer, editor and teacher trainer. I’ve written published materials in a range of areas, but most recently, I’ve specialized in EAP (English for Academic Purposes). I co-authored Oxford EAP advanced (OUP) and I wrote the ebook How To Write EAP Materials (ELT T2W). I’m based in Bristol in the UK.

I’ve been giving presentations and workshops at conferences and other events since 2000, both on behalf of publishers (including CUP, OUP and Collins COBUILD) and independently. I speak regularly at the annual IATEFL conference, at other conferences and at events organized by publishers in the UK and across Europe. I’ve also presented a number of webinars.

I give talks and workshops about teaching dictionary skills, corpus research and its role in ELT, teaching vocabulary, teaching EAP and how to write more effective EAP materials.

As a writer, I think it’s important to get out regularly to interact with both learners and teachers. I’m always fascinated by the insights I gain from meeting teachers from around the world. Thus, I’m happy to travel to events both within Europe and further afield whenever I can fit it in with my writing schedule.

Some feedback on recent presentations:
“An excellent presentation; friendly, generous, motivating.”
“Adorable, approachable, extremely clear. Her approach to language is very modern, interactive and fun. Thanks for such a high quality presentation.”

Videos:
There’s a video of my 2012 IATEFL presentation available here.
And interviews about my work on Oxford EAP here and here.

Contacts:
For more information about me and my work visit my website: www.juleswords.co.uk
Or to keep up-to-date with what I’ve been doing recently, visit my blog or my Facebook page.

 

